Our Staff

Staff: National Natural History Collections

Name Position Email Phone
Dr. Gila Kahila Bar-Gal Director of the Collections gila.kahila@mail.huji.ac.il 08-9489888
Oshrat Cohen Website Manager and Information Coordinator oshratc@savion.huji.ac.il 02-6584336
Dr. Efrat Gavish-Regev Collections Coordinator efrat.gavish-regev@mail.huji.ac.il 02-6584304
Sarit Levi Collections Administrator sarit@savion.cc.huji.ac.il 02-6585390
Adi Ben-Nun Manager of GIS Center bennun@cc.huji.ac.il 972-2-6586345
Gali Beiner Natural History Conservator gali.beiner@mail.huji.ac.il 050-6950866 (SMS)

Staff: Fishes Collection

Name Position Email Phone
Dr. Daniel Golani Curator and Director dgolani@cc.huji.ac.il 02-6585872

Staff: Herbarium Collection

Name Position Email Phone
Dr Jotham Ziffer-Berger Director jotham.z@mail.huji.ac.il 972-2-6584562
Dr Ilana Herrnstadt-Haas Curator of Bryophytes ilanahs@vms.huji.ac.il 02-6584562
Hagar V. Leschner Collection manager hagarv@savion.huji.ac.il 02-6584456
Dr David Heller Researcher
Gili Hemed Information manager
Dr Ori Fragman-Sapir Associate curator
Dr Iala Ianbay Librarian
Dr Alexandra Keren-Keiserman Post-doctoral fellow alex.keren.k@gmail.com
Ada Goldman Volunteer adag46@gmail.com

Staff: Marine invertebrate

Name Position Email Phone
Prof. Ariel Chipman Collection Curator and Director ariel.chipman@huji.ac.il 02-6585816
Dr. Chanan Dimentman Researcher, Emeritus dimentman@gmail.com 02-6585990
Theodora Bar-El Volunteer theodorab@savion.huji.ac.il 02-6584582
Prof. Amatzia Genin Associate Curator a.genin@mail.huji.ac.il
Dr. Yehu Moran Associate Curator yehu.moran@mail.huji.ac.il

Staff: The Mollusc Collection

Name Position Email Phone
Henk Mienis Collection Manager mienis@netzer.org.il 02-6585877
Prof. Joseph Heller Academic Curator heller@vms.huji.ac.il
Yael Leshno Assistant of collection manager yael.leshno@mail.huji.ac.il

Staff: Reptiles and Amphibians

Name Position Email Phone
Dr. Dror Hawlena Academic Curator dror.hawlena@mail.huji.ac.il 972-2-6585878
Dr. Boaz Shacham Herpetological Collection Manager boazshacham@mail.huji.ac.il 02-6585876
Prof. Yehudah L. Werner Emeritus yehudah_w@yahoo.com 02-6585874
Dr. Eliezer Frankenberg Associate Researcher eliezerfrank@gmail.com

Staff: Birds Collection

Name Position Email Phone
Dr. Dror Hawlena Academic Curator dror.hawlena@mail.huji.ac.il 972-2-6585878
Ron Efrat Collection manager ron.efrat@mail.huji.ac.il 054-6738198

Staff: Bioanthropology Collection

Name Position Email Phone
Prof. Anna Belfer-Cohen Curator and Director
Prof. Marina Faerman Scientific Collection Director marinaf@cc.huji.ac.il
Prof. Patricia Smith Emeritus pat.smith@mail.huji.ac.il

Staff: Archaeozoology and Osteology Collections

Name Position Email Phone
Dr. Rivka Rabinovich Curator and Director rivka@vms.huji.ac.il 02-6585784
רבקה ביטון טכנאית אקדמאית rebecca.biton@mail.huji.ac.il 02-6585782

Staff: Palaeontology Collection

Name Position Email Phone
Dr. Rivka Rabinovich Curator and Director rivka@vms.huji.ac.il 02-6585784
רבקה ביטון טכנאית אקדמאית rebecca.biton@mail.huji.ac.il 02-6585782
Yael Leshno Doctoral Student yael.leshno@mail.huji.ac.il

Staff: Mineralogy and Petrology Collection

Name Position Email Phone
Prof. Alan Matthews Curator and Director alan@vms.huji.ac.il 02-6584913
Avishai Abbo Technical Manager avishai.abbo@mail.huji.ac.il

Staff: Terrestrial arthropods

Name Position Email Phone
Dr. Efrat Gavish-Regev Scientific Collection Director efrat.gavish-regev@mail.huji.ac.il
Igor (Ido) Armiach Ph.D. Student
Tanya Levy M.Sc. Student
Dr. Achik Dorchin Postdoctoral Researcher dorchin@hotmail.com
Assaf Uzan Research Assistant
Shlomi Aharon M.Sc. Student
Theodora Bar-El Volunteer
Tomer Regev Volunteer
Prof. Yael Lubin Associate Curator (Spiders)
Prof. Avi Shmida Associate Curator (Bees)

Staff: Wildlife CryoBank

Name Position Email Phone
Dr. Gila Kahila Bar-Gal Lab manager and academic curator gila.kahila@mail.huji.ac.il 08-9489888
Lia Hadas Academic Technician lia.hadas@mail.huji.ac.il