Our Staff

Staff: National Natural History Collections

Name Position Email Phone
Prof. Gila Kahila Bar-Gal Director of the Collections gila.kahila@mail.huji.ac.il +972-8-9489888
Oshrat Cohen Website Manager and Information Coordinator oshratc@savion.huji.ac.il +972-2-6584336
Dr. Efrat Gavish-Regev Collections Coordinator efrat.gavish-regev@mail.huji.ac.il +972-2-6584304
Sarit Levi Collections Administrator sarit@savion.cc.huji.ac.il +972-2-6585390
Adi Ben-Nun Manager of GIS Center bennun@cc.huji.ac.il +972-2-6586345
Gali Beiner Natural History Conservator gali.beiner@mail.huji.ac.il 050-6950866 (SMS)
Dr. Iala Ianbay Librarian

Staff: Fishes Collection

Name Position Email Phone
Dr. Lior David Academic curator lior.david@mail.huji.ac.il 08-9489038
Dr. Daniel Golani Collection Manager dgolani@cc.huji.ac.il +972-2-6585872
Dr. Roni Tadmor-Levi Postoctoral Fellow roni.tadmor@mail.huji.ac.il 08-9489575

Staff: Herbarium Collection

Name Position Email Phone
Dr. Tamar Avin-Wittenberg Academic Curator tamar.avin-wittenberg@mail.huji.ac.il +972-2-5494023
Dr. Naomi Yuval-Naeh Academic Curator naomi.yuval@mail.huji.ac.il
Dr. Ilana Herrnstadt-Haas Academic Curator of Bryophytes ilanahs@vms.huji.ac.il 02-6584562
Dr. Neta Manela Scientific Manager neta.manela@mail.huji.ac.il
Hagar V. Leschner Collection Manager hagarv@savion.huji.ac.il 02-6584456
Dr. Dagan Sade Postdoctoral Fellow dagan.edelbaum@mail.huji.ac.il
Almog Ram Master Student almog@botanic.co.il
Micheline Bibi Volunteer
Prof. Shahal abbo Associate curator
Dr. Ori Fragman-Sapir Associate curator

Staff: Marine invertebrate

Name Position Email Phone
Prof. Ariel Chipman Academic Curator and Collection Manager ariel.chipman@huji.ac.il +972-2-6585816
Dr. Chanan Dimentman Researcher, Emeritus dimentman@gmail.com +972-2-6585990
Prof. Amatzia Genin Associate Curator a.genin@mail.huji.ac.il

Staff: The Mollusc Collection

Name Position Email Phone
Henk Mienis Collection Manager mienis@netzer.org.il +972-2-6585877
Prof. Joseph Heller Academic Curator heller@vms.huji.ac.il
Yael Leshno Assistant collection manager yael.leshno@mail.huji.ac.il

Staff: Reptiles and Amphibians

Name Position Email Phone
Prof. Dror Hawlena Academic Curator dror.hawlena@mail.huji.ac.il 972-2-6585878
Dr. Boaz Shacham Collection manager boazshacham@mail.huji.ac.il 02-6585876
Prof. Yehudah L. Werner Emeritus yehudah_w@yahoo.com +972-2-6585874
Dr. Eliezer Frankenberg Associate Researcher eliezerfrank@gmail.com

Staff: Birds Collection

Name Position Email Phone
Prof. Dror Hawlena Academic Curator dror.hawlena@mail.huji.ac.il 972-2-6585878
Dr. Eshel Ophir Scientific Manager of the Birds Collection eshelo@savion.huji.ac.il
Ran Nathan Associate Curator

Staff: Bioanthropology Collection

Name Position Email Phone
Prof. Anna Belfer-Cohen Academic Curator
Prof. Marina Faerman Scientific Collection Manager marinaf@cc.huji.ac.il
Prof. Patricia Smith Emeritus pat.smith@mail.huji.ac.il
Prof. Erella Hovers Associate Curator

Staff: Archaeozoology and Osteology Collections

Name Position Email Phone
Prof. Rivka Rabinovich Academic Curator rivkar@mail.huji.ac.il 02-6585784
Dr. Rebecca Biton Research Associate rebecca.biton@mail.huji.ac.il 02-6585782
Gali Beiner Conservator gali.beiner@mail.huji.ac.il
Mustafa Hossin Student mustafahossin@gmail.com
Prof. Erella Hovers Associate Curator

Staff: Palaeontology Collection

Name Position Email Phone
Prof. Rivka Rabinovich Academic Curator rivkar@mail.huji.ac.il 02-6585784
Dr. Rebecca Biton Research Associate rebecca.biton@mail.huji.ac.il
Yael Leshno Doctoral Student yael.leshno@mail.huji.ac.il
Gali Beiner Conservator gali.beiner@mail.huji.ac.il

Staff: Mineralogy and Petrology Collection

Name Position Email Phone
Dr. Yaakov Weiss Academic Curator : yakov.weiss@mail.huji.ac.il
Yoni Israeli Technical Manager Yonatan Israeli@mail.huji.ac.il
Prof. Alan Matthews Curator Emeritus alan@vms.huji.ac.il +972-2-6584913

Staff: Terrestrial arthropods

Name Position Email Phone
Prof. Ariel Chipman Academic Curator of Invertebrate Collection
Dr. Efrat Gavish-Regev Scientific Manager of Arachnida and other Terrestrial Arthropods efrat.gavish-regev@mail.huji.ac.il
Dr. Bracha Schindler Post Doctoral bracha.schindler@mail.huji.ac.il.
Igor (Ido) Armiach Ph.D. Student bomtombadil@gmail.com
Shlomi Aharon Ph.D. Student shlomi.aharon@gmail.com
Zeana Ganem Ph.D. Student
Tanya Levy M.Sc. Student levy.tanya7@gmail.com
Yoram Zvik Master student
Raisa Shtuhin B.Sc. Student raisa.shtuhin@mail.huji.ac.il
Yebin Byun B.Sc. Research Project

Staff: Wildlife CryoBank

Name Position Email Phone
Prof. Gila Kahila Bar-Gal Lab Manager and Academic Curator gila.kahila@mail.huji.ac.il +972-8-9489888